Taxonomy

Ptisana attenuata (Labill.) Murdock
endemique
UICN

Synonyms

Marattia pellucida sensu Marattia attenuata Labill.

Red List Status -

Near Threatened (NT) , assessed in 10/06/2017

Ptisana attenuata is an endemic fern, spread from Col d'Amoss in the north to Port Boisé in the south of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is common and occurs in dense humid forest on volcano-sedimentary substrate, at an altitudinal range of 150-860 m asl. Although it is highly impacted by rusa deer (Rusa timorensis) and feral pigs (Sus scrofa) in some locations, this species does not seem globally threathened due to its large distribution and abondance. Its area of occupancy (AOO) and extent of occurrence (EOO) being respectively estimated to 120 and 8,800 km², Ptisana attenuata is considered Near Threatened (NT) close to VU B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) with an estimated decline of the subcriteria concerned.

Geographical area


Ptisana attenuata is an endemic fern, spread from Col d'Amoss in the north to Port Boisé in the south of Grande Terre in New Caledonia.

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


Ptisana attenuata occurs in dense humid forest on volcano-sedimentary substrate, at an altitudinal range of 150-860 m asl.

Threats


The main threat impacting this species comes from direct impact (consumption) caused by invasive species (rusa deer (Rusa timorensis) and feral pigs (Sus scrofa)). Feild observations indicate a decline of population in Parc des Grandes Fougères and in some locations (Col d'Amieu, Boghen, Rembai) it seems to have disappeared. However, this species does not seem globally threathened due to its large distribution and its abondance.

Conservation


Ptisana attenuata is unprotected by legislation however it occurs in several protected areas: Parc des Grandes Fougères, Rivière bleue, Aoupinié, Haute Yaté, Vallée de la Thy. It is recommended to inform the Conservatoire d'espaces naturels de Nouvelle-Calédonie (New Caledonia natural spaces conservatory), which coordinates the New caledonian Invasive Species Programme, on the situation of the species in the concerned areas.

Bibliography


Brownlie G. 1969. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et Dépendances, Volume 03 : Pteridophytae.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrabé, L., Cazé, H., Chambrey, C., Garnier, D., Héquet, V., Letocart, D., Letocart, I.

Reviewer(s): Perrie, L., Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Ptisana attenuata (Labill.) Murdock
endemique
UICN

Synonymes

Marattia pellucida sensu Marattia attenuata Labill.

Statut liste rouge -

Quasi menacée (NT) , évaluée le 10/06/2017

Description

 

Habitat

Forêts denses humides (F)

Synonyme

Marattia attenuata


Ptisana attenuata est une fougère terrestre endémique de grande taille, présente du Col d'Amoss au nord à Port Boisé au sud de la Grande Terre. Cette espèce commune se trouve dans en forêt humide sur substrat volcano-sédimentaire, à une altitude allant de 150 à 860 m. Bien que l'espèce soit menacée par l'impact direct des espèces envahissantes (consommation par les cerfs et les cochons), l'impact n'est pas homogène. Et l'espèce ne semble pas aujourd'hui globalement menacée en raison de sa large répartition et de son abondance. Sa zone d'occupation (AOO) et sa zone d'occurrences (EOO) étant respectivement estimées à 120 et 8800 km², Ptisana attenuata est considéré quasi-menacé (NT) proche de VU B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) avec un déclin estimé de l'ensemble des sous-critères.

Aire géographique


Fougère terrestre endémique de taille elevée, présente du Col d'Amoss au nord à Port Boisé au sud de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue. Mais les observations terrains indiquent une population commune en forêt humide.

Habitat


Espèce de forêt humide sur substrat volcano-sédimentaire, à une altitude allant de 150 à 860 m.

Menaces


Espèce menacée par l'impact direct des espèces envahissantes (consommation par les cerfs (Rusa timorensis russa) et les cochons (Sus scrofa)), avec une diminution de la population dans certaines localités (Parc des Grandes Fougères) et une disparition quasi-totale dans les zones du Col d'Amieu, Boghen et Rembai. Néanmoins, cet impact n'est pas homogène et l'espèce ne semble pas globalement menacée en raison de son abondance et de sa répartition assez large.

Conservation


Espèce non protégée règlementairement, elle est présente dans plusieurs réserves : Parc des Grandes Fougères, Rivière bleue, Aoupinié, Haute Yaté, Vallée de la Thy. Il est recommandé d'informer le CEN Nouvelle-Calédonie (Conservatoire d'espaces naturels de Nouvelle-Calédonie) de la situation de cette espèce et des zones impactées à des fins de régulation.

Bibliographie


Brownlie G. 1969. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et Dépendances, Volume 03 : Pteridophytae.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrabé, L., Cazé, H., Chambrey, C., Garnier, D., Héquet, V., Letocart, D., Letocart, I.

Reviewer(s): Perrie, L., Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique