Taxonomy

Polyscias jaffrei Lowry & G.M.Plunkett, ined.
endemique
protegee
UICN

Synonyms

Tieghemopanax jaffrei Lowry, ined.

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 09/12/2016

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Polyscias jaffrei is an endemic shrub found in the west part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known from 4 massifs (Taom, Koniambo, Kopéto, Boulinda). It is found in mid to high altitudinal shrubland on ultramafic substrate. Main threats are ongoing mining activities and recurrent bushfires. Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are respectively estimated to be of 414 km² and 28 km² while the number of locations is estimated to be 4. Polyscias jaffrei is therefore assessed as Endangered (EN) with criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) with a continuing decline of all concerned sub-criteria.

Geographical area


Polyscias jaffrei is an endemic shrub found in the west part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known from 4 massifs (Taom, Koniambo, Kopéto, Boulinda).

Population


Population size is unknown. This species is known of four subpopulations.

Habitat


It is found in mid to high altitudinal (470-900 m asl) shrubland on ultramafic substrate.

Threats


Main threats are ongoing mining activities occuring on three massifs (Kopéto, Koniambo et Ouazangou) and recurrent bushfires.

Conservation


This species is not protected by legislation and it does not occur in any protected area. It is recommended to carry ex-situ and in-situ conservation efforts, in particular: seeds banking, ensuring the follow-up of known sub-populations and preserving viable populations on delimited perimeters. Patches of humid forest on ultramafic substrates should be protected, as on Paéoua which host several threatened species.

Bibliography


Lowry P.P.L. and Plunkett G.M. 2018. A Taxonomic revision of Polyscias subg. Tieghemopanax.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Lowry, P., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Cazé, H., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Goxe, J., Hequet, V., Lannuzel, G., McCoy, S., Schatz, G., Suprin, B., Tanguy, V., Vandrot, H., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Maura, J.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Warimavute, G.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Polyscias jaffrei Lowry & G.M.Plunkett, ined.
endemique
protegee
UICN

Synonymes

Tieghemopanax jaffrei Lowry, ined.

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 09/12/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Description

Habitat

Forêts denses humides, maquis (FM)
 


Polyscias jaffrei est un arbuste endémique des massifs de l'ouest de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce n'est connue que de 4 massifs ultramafiques (Taom, Koniambo, Kopéto, Boulinda). On le retrouve en maquis de moyenne à assez haute altitude sur substrat ultramafique. Les principales menaces proviennent de l'exploitation minière en cours sur 3 des massifs et des feux de brousse. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement estimées à 414 km² et 28 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé à quatre. En conséquence, Polyscias jaffrei est considéré En Danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de l'ensemble des sous-critères concernés.

Aire géographique


Nord-ouest de la Grande Terre du Boulinda au Taom

Population


4 sous-populations : Taom, Koniambo, Kopéto, Boulinda

Habitat


Arbuste, maquis de moyenne à assez haute altitude (470-900m) sur substrat ultramafique

Menaces


Les principales menaces proviennent de l'exploitation minière en cours (Kopéto, Koniambo et Ouazangou) sur 3 des massifs et des feux de brousse.

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégée règlementairement. Aucune population biologiquement viable de cette espèce ne se trouve dans une aire protégée. Il est recommandé de mener des efforts en matière de mesures de conservation in-situ et ex-situ : il faudrait assurer le suivi des populations existantes, le mettre en banque de semences, préserver des populations viables sur des périmètres délimités sur les zones minières... Des zones de forêt humide devraient être protégées sur les massifs miniers où cette espèce est présente, notamment sur le Paéoua qui abrite de nombreuses espèces menacées.

Bibliographie


Lowry P.P.L. and Plunkett G.M. 2018. A Taxonomic revision of Polyscias subg. Tieghemopanax.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Lowry, P., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Cazé, H., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Goxe, J., Hequet, V., Lannuzel, G., McCoy, S., Schatz, G., Suprin, B., Tanguy, V., Vandrot, H., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Maura, J.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Warimavute, G.


Répartition géographique