Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 27/10/2017

Protected species -

in Northern Province , in Northern Province

Phyllanthus torrentium var. induratus is endemic to New Caledonia, only known from the areas around Cap Bocage, in the southern east coast of Grande Terre. It is found in shrubland on ultramafic substrate up to 300 m asl. Known from two locations, its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are both estimated to be to 16 km². Main threats include mining activities and uncontrolled bushfires. Therefore, P. torrentium var. induratus is listed as Endangered (EN) under criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(ii,iii,v).

Geographical area


P. torrentium var. induratus is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is restricted to the southern east coast of Grande Terre.

Population


Total population size is unknown, but field prospections have reported at least 2,000 mature individuals on the plateau of Cap Bocage's (Lannuzel & Fogliani 2017).

Habitat


P. torrentium var. induratus occurs in shrubland on ultramafic substrate up to 300 m asl.

Threats


Main threats include uncontrolled bushfires and mining activities at Cap Bocage (SMT).

Conservation


P. torrentium var. induratus is protected by legislation in Province Nord, but does not occur in any protected areas. This species is cultivated at the IAC (Institut Agronomique de Nouvelle-Calédonie) nursery of Saint-Louis. This taxon would benefit from ex situ and in situ emergency conservation actions. It is recommended to monitor and preserve known populations in delimited areas of the mining site, and to inform the local authority responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort about the presence of the taxon in the concerned areas. It would also be advised to run multiplication tests in order to assist future planting operations. Finally, prospection at Cap Bocage and Monéo is needed to better estimate the size of the population and understand potential threats.

Bibliography


Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 27/10/2017

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud , en Province Nord

Description

Description Générale

voir espèce

Répartition en Nouvelle-Calédonie

Cette variété commune et localisée, s'observe sur la côte est de la Grande Terre à Monéo et sur le Cap Bocage.

Habitat

Dans le maquis

Substrat

Sur sol plus ou moins érodé sur substrat ultramafique.

Feuille

voir espèce; feuilles plus petites, lancéolées.

Phénologie (Fleur)

voir espèce; fleurs mâles avec 5 - 10 étamines; fleurs femelles avec des styles échancrés au sommet.

Fruits

voir espèce

Reproduction

voir espèce

Phyllanthus torrentium var. induratus est un arbrisseau endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, connu uniquement des environs de Cap Bocage, sur la côte sud-est de la Grande Terre. Ce taxon pousse en maquis sur substrat ultramafique jusqu'à 300 m d'altitude. Connu de 2 localités, ses zones d'occurrence (EOO) et d'occupation (AOO) sont toutes deux estimées à 16 km². La principale menace provient des feux et de l’activité minière. En conséquence, P. torrentium var. induratus est considéré En Danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(ii,iii,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de l'aire d'occurence (AOO), de la qualité de l'habitat et du nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Taxon endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, connu uniquement des environs de Cap Bocage, sur la côte sud-est de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue, mais les observations de terrain indiquent un minimum de 2000 individus sur le plateau de Cap Bocage (Lannuzel & Fogliani 2017).

Habitat


Arbrisseau de maquis sur substrat ultramafique jusqu'à 300 m d’altitude.

Menaces


Menaces identifiées : feux et mine (Cap Bocage (SMT)).

Conservation


Ce taxon est protégé règlementairement en Province Nord, mais n'est présent dans aucune aire protégée. Cette espèce est cultivée en pépinière à la station de Saint-Louis de l'IAC (Institut agronomique de Nouvelle-Calédonie). Il bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation ex situ et in situ. Il est recommandé d'assurer le suivi de la population existante, de préserver la population viable sur des périmètres délimités et d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) sur la présence du taxon dans les zones concernées. Il est de plus préconisé de réaliser des tests de multiplication pour envisager des programmes de replantation. Enfin, des prospections devraient être réalisées à Cap Bocage et Monéo pour mieux estimer la taille de population et son statut de menace.

Bibliographie


Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique