Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 29/02/2016

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Scaevola coccinea is an endemic shrub/small tree restricted to the area of Tontouta on Grande Terre in New Caledonia. A single population is known. It is found in shrubland on an ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 50-850 m asl. Recurrent bushfires and on-going mining activities in the valley contribute to the degradation of the habitat. Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are respectively estimated to be of 77 and 52 km² with an estimation of two locations (one for the valley, one for the mountain ridge). Scaevola coccinea is therefore assessed as Endangered (EN) with criteria B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) with a continuing decline of habitat quality and number of mature individuals.

Geographical area


Scaevola coccinea is an endemic shrub/small tree restricted to the area of Tontouta on Grande Terre in New Caledonia. A single population is known in Tontouta, from the valley to the ridge of Mont Kokoreta.

Population


This species occurs in small disseminated subpopulations. It grows on ancient mining roads and is therefore threatened by reopening.

Habitat


It is found in shrubland (sloppy on eroded soil) on an ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 50-850 m asl.

Threats


Recurrent bushfires and on-going (and past) mining activities in the valley (Tomo and Vulcain by SMGM, Opoué by SLN) contribute to the degradation of the habitat, especially to erosion. Some individuals are directly impacted by the mine Gallieni/Vulcain. Uncontrolled fires sweep across lowlands of New Caledonia each year, especially during the dry season (an average of 20,000 ha of land is burnt each year). New Caledonia contains 20-30% of the world’s nickel resources. Intense mining activities since the late 19th century has generated soil erosion (1.2% of bare ground mapped by SPOT5 in 2007). Based on the distribution of metal-rich soils and site accessibility, these threats are predictable and planned (rise in nickel production from 60,000 to 200,000 tonnes per year between 2013 and 2015).

Conservation


Scaevola coccinea is not protected by legislation. It does not occur in any protected area. The reproduction of this species is well-known. IAC (Institut Agronomique néo-Calédonien) issued a technical note on its culture. This species would benefit from emergency in-situ and ex-situ conservation measures. It is needed to follow-up existing populations. In terms of protection, while it seems difficult to propose perennial measures as long as the valley will be exploited, it is proposed to protect some areas of the valley of Tontouta. It is moreover recommended to gather mining actors to get an inventory of protection measures already implemented and to try to launch a collaboration between institutions (DIMENC and DENV) and mining operators (SLN, Ballande, SMGM) in order to preserve the Tontouta flora.

Bibliography


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

L'Huillier L.; Jaffré T. and Wulff A. 2010. Mines et Environnement en Nouvelle-Calédonie : les milieux sur substrats ultramafiques et leur restauration.

Wulff AS, Hollingsworth PM, Ahrends A, Jaffré T, Veillon J-M, L’Huillier L, et al. 2013. Conservation Priorities in a Biodiversity Hotspot: Analysis of Narrow Endemic Plant Species in New Caledonia.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Tanguy, V., Veillon, J., Amice, R., Cazé, H., Chambrey, C., Dubreuil, M., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Leborgne, T., Letocart, D., Letocart, I., McCoy, S., Villegente, J.

Reviewer(s): Maura, J.

Contributor(s): Wulff, A.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 29/02/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Description

Description Générale

Arbrisseau dressé ou arbuste de 3 m, avec une ramification peu dense.

Répartition en Nouvelle-Calédonie

Cette espèce est localisée sur la Grande Terre dans la Vallée de la Tontouta et sur les pentes des sommets avoisinants.

Habitat

Dans le maquis arbustif sur forte pente.

Substrat

Sur sol érodé sur substrat ultramafique.

Feuille

Feuilles pétiolées, coriaces, glabres, spatulées, arondies au sommet, en coin à la base; bord entier ou denté sur la 1/2 supérieure; marge révolutée

Phénologie (Fleur)

Fleurs grandes, jaunes, solitaires ou par 2-3 sur des grappes axillaires plus courtes que les feuilles.

Fruits

Fruits ronds noirs à maturité; noyau à surface rugueuse; graines 2 aplaties.

Reproduction

Floraison et fructification de septembre à janvier.

Particularité

Cette espèce est reconnaissable à ses grandes fleurs jaunes. Ces dernières en séchant prennent une teinte d'un roux très foncé ( " coccinea ") , ce qui ne rend pas compte de la réalité.


Téléchargez la fiche de culture (fichier pdf de 1 Mo) réalisée par la station SRMH-IAC.

Référence

Wulff Adrien S., Hollingsworth Peter M., Piquet Marie, Ahrends Antje, L’Huillier Laurent, Fogliani Bruno (2017) High levels of population differentiation in two New Caledonian Scaevola species (Goodeniaceae) and its implications for conservation prioritisation and restoration. Australian Journal of Botany 65, 140-148.




Scaevola coccinea est un arbrisseau/arbuste micro-endémique de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue d'une seule population dans le secteur de la Tontouta. On le trouve en maquis arbustif sur forte pente sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude de 50 à 850 m. La principale menace provient de la dégradation de l'habitat causée par les feux de brousse et par les effets de l'exploitation minière en-cours dans la vallée de la Tontouta. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement estimées à 77 et 52 km² pour deux localités (une pour la vallée, une pour la crête de la montagne). En conséquence, Scaevola coccinea est considéré En danger d'extinction (EN) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de la qualité de l'habitat et du nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Scaevola coccinea est un arbrisseau/arbuste micro-endémique de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue d'une seule population dans le secteur de la Tontouta. On le retrouve de la vallée jusqu'à la crête du mont Kokoreta.

Population


Cette espèce se retrouve par petites populations éparses, pas très abondantes. Elle repousse sur d'anciennes pistes minières (menacée lors de la réouverture de ces pistes).

Habitat


On le trouve en maquis arbustif sur forte pente sur sol érodé sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude de 50 à 850 m.

Menaces


Les principales menaces proviennent des feux de brousse et de l'exploitation minière passée et en-cours (Tomo et Vulcain par la SMGM, Opoué par la SLN) générant de l'érosion dans la vallée. Une partie de la population est directement impactée par la mine Gallieni/Vulcain. Les feux de brousse touchent en moyenne une surface de 20,000 ha de terrains chaque année sur la Grande-Terre, notamment lors de la saison sèche. La Nouvelle-Calédonie possède de 20 à 30% des réserves mondiales de nickel. L'exploitation minière intensive depuis la fin du XIXème siècle a entraîné une forte érosion des sols (1,2% de surface de sol dégradé cartographiée par SPOT5 en 2007 sur la Grande-Terre). L'exploitation minière est aujourd'hui en phase de développement avec une production métallurgique multipliée par trois de 2010 à 2015 (de 60,000 à 200,000 tonnes annuelles).

Conservation


Scaevola coccinea n'est pas protégé règlementairement. Aucune population biologiquement viable de cette espèce ne se trouve dans une aire protégée. La reproduction de cette espèce est maîtrisée. L'IAC a développé une fiche de culture dédiée. Cette espèce bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence de conservation in-situ et ex-situ. Il est nécessaire d'assurer le suivi des populations. En matière de protection, bien qu'il soit difficile de proposer des mesures pérennes de conservation tant que la vallée sera exploitée, il est proposé de mettre en place de protéger des zones de la vallée. Il est de plus suggéré de rassembler les acteurs miniers impliqués dans la zone pour recenser les actions menées et essayer d'instiller une collaboration entre les institutions (DIMENC et DENV) et les mineurs (SLN, Ballande, SMGM) pour préserver la flore de la Tontouta.

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

L'Huillier L.; Jaffré T. and Wulff A. 2010. Mines et Environnement en Nouvelle-Calédonie : les milieux sur substrats ultramafiques et leur restauration.

Wulff AS, Hollingsworth PM, Ahrends A, Jaffré T, Veillon J-M, L’Huillier L, et al. 2013. Conservation Priorities in a Biodiversity Hotspot: Analysis of Narrow Endemic Plant Species in New Caledonia.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Tanguy, V., Veillon, J., Amice, R., Cazé, H., Chambrey, C., Dubreuil, M., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Leborgne, T., Letocart, D., Letocart, I., McCoy, S., Villegente, J.

Reviewer(s): Maura, J.

Contributor(s): Wulff, A.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique