Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 27/10/2017

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Desmodium kaalense is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is restricted to the northwest of Grande Terre (Mt. Kaala, pic Yago). It is found in shrubland on ultramafic substrate from 30 to 300 m asl. Known from two locations, its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are 28 and 12 km², respectively. The main threat is posed by uncontrolled bushfires. Therefore, D. kaalaensis is listed as Endangered (EN) under criteria B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v).

Geographical area


D. kaalaensis is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is restricted to the northwestern part of Grande Terre. Known from Mont Kaala, it was recently observed at Pic Yago.

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


D. kaalaensis occurs in shrubland on ultramafic slopes between 30 and 300 m asl.

Threats


The main threat is posed by uncontrolled bushfires.

Conservation


D. kaalense is protected by legislation in Province Nord, but does not occur in any protected areas. This species would benefit from ex situ and in situ emergency conservation actions. It is recommended to monitor and preserve known populations in delimited areas of the mining site, and to inform the local authority responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort about the presence of the species in the concerned areas. It would also be advised to run multiplication tests in order to assist future planting operations. Finally, this species should be sought after in similar habitats.

Bibliography


Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 27/10/2017

Espèce protégée -

en Province Nord

Description

Habitat

Les maquis miniers (M)


Desmodium kaalense est un arbrisseau endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, restreint au nord-ouest de la Grande Terre. Cette espèce se trouve en maquis entre 30 et 300 m d’altitude. Connue de 2 localités, ses zones d'occurrence (EOO) et d'occupation (AOO) sont de 28 et 12 km², respectivement. La principale menace provient des feux de brousse. En conséquence, D. kaalense est considéré En Danger (EN)) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de la qualité de l'habitat et du nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Espèce endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, restreinte au nord-ouest de la Grande Terre. Connue du Mont Kaala, elle a été récemment observée au Pic Yago.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue.

Habitat


Arbrisseau de maquis sur pentes serpentineuses, entre 30 et 300 m d’altitude.

Menaces


Menace principale : feux

Conservation


Cette espèce est protégée règlementairement en Province Nord, mais n'est présente dans aucune aire protégée. L'espèce bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation ex situ et in situ. Il est recommandé d'assurer le suivi de la population existante, de préserver la population viable sur des périmètres délimités du site minier et d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) sur la présence de l’espèce dans les zones concernées. Il est de plus préconisé de réaliser des tests de multiplication pour envisager des programmes de replantation. Enfin, l'espèce serait à rechercher dans les habitats ou sur les substrats similaires.

Bibliographie


Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique