Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 19/02/2016

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Ixora longiloba is an endemic shrub restricted to the east coast of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known of three subpopulations (Vallée de Ba, Comboui, Rivière Bleue). It is found in dense humid forest on various substrates at an altitudinal range 20-400 m asl. Past mining activities have impacted some subpopulations. However, the main threat identified is linked to the habitat degradation linked to uncontrolled bushfires (Comboui, Port-Bouquet; vallée de Ba in Houaïlou). Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are respectively estimated to be of 975 and 20 km² while the number of locations is estimated to be 4. Ixora longiloba is therefore assessed as Endangered (EN) with criteria B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) with a continuing decline of habitat quality and number iof individuals.

Geographical area


Ixora longiloba is an endemic shrub restricted to the east coast of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known of three subpopulations (Vallée de Ba, Comboui, Rivière Bleue).

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


It is found in dense humid forest on various substrates at an altitudinal range 20-400 m asl.

Threats


Past mining activities have impacted some subpopulations. However, the main threat identified is linked to the habitat degradation linked to uncontrolled bushfires (Comboui, Port-Bouquet; vallée de Ba in Houaïlou). They sweep across lowlands of New Caledonia each year, especially during the dry season (an average of 20,000 ha of land is burnt each year, with dramatic peaks of 70,000 ha).

Conservation


Ixora longiloba is not protected by legislation but it occurs in one protected area (Parc provincial de la Rivière Bleue). It is recommended to prospect the area of Port-Bouquet and to inform the "comité de gestion de Borindi".

Bibliography


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Wulff AS, Hollingsworth PM, Ahrends A, Jaffré T, Veillon J-M, L’Huillier L, et al. 2013. Conservation Priorities in a Biodiversity Hotspot: Analysis of Narrow Endemic Plant Species in New Caledonia.

L'Huillier L.; Jaffré T. and Wulff A. 2010. Mines et Environnement en Nouvelle-Calédonie : les milieux sur substrats ultramafiques et leur restauration.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Tanguy, V., Veillon, J., Bruy, D., Dubreuil, M., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G.

Reviewer(s): Amice, R.

Contributor(s): Wulff, A.

Facilitator(s): Chanfreau, S., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 19/02/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Description

Habitat

Forêts denses humides (F)
 


Ixora longiloba est un arbuste endémique de la côte Est de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue de 3 sous-populations (vallée de Ba à Houaïlou, PortBouquet, Rivière Bleue). On le trouve en forêt humide (bord de rivière, ravins) sur substrats variés à une altitude de 20 à 400 m. L'exploitation minière passée a pu affecter cette espèce. Cependant, la principale menace identifiée est liée à la dégradation de l'habitat par les feux de brousse (Comboui, Port-Bouquet, vallée de Ba à Houaïlou). Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement estimées à 975 km² et 20 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé à 4. En conséquence, Ixora longiloba est considéré En Danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de la qualité de l'habitat et du nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Ixora longiloba est un arbuste endémique de la côte Est de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue de 3 sous-populations (vallée de Ba à Houaïlou, PortBouquet, Rivière Bleue).

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue.

Habitat


On le trouve en forêt humide (bord de rivière, ravins) sur substrats variés à une altitude de 20 à 400 m.

Menaces


L'exploitation minière passée a pu affecter cette espèce. Cependant, la principale menace identifiée est liée à la dégradation de l'habitat par les feux de brousse (Comboui, Port-Bouquet, vallée de Ba à Houaïlou).

Conservation


Ixora longiloba n'est pas protégé réglementairement. Une sous-population est présente en aire protégée dans le Parc Provincial de la Rivière Bleue. Il est préconisé de prospecter la région de Port-Bouquet pour le localiser et transmettre l'information au comité de gestion de Borindi.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Wulff AS, Hollingsworth PM, Ahrends A, Jaffré T, Veillon J-M, L’Huillier L, et al. 2013. Conservation Priorities in a Biodiversity Hotspot: Analysis of Narrow Endemic Plant Species in New Caledonia.

L'Huillier L.; Jaffré T. and Wulff A. 2010. Mines et Environnement en Nouvelle-Calédonie : les milieux sur substrats ultramafiques et leur restauration.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Tanguy, V., Veillon, J., Bruy, D., Dubreuil, M., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G.

Reviewer(s): Amice, R.

Contributor(s): Wulff, A.

Facilitator(s): Chanfreau, S., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique