Taxonomy

Thiollierea propinqua (Brongn. & Gris) Paudyal & Delprete
endemique
UICN

Synonyms

Morierina propinqua Brongn. & Gris.,

Red List Status -

Vulnerable (VU) , assessed in 21/04/2017

Thiollierea propinqua is an endemic shrub of New Caledonia, found in Grande Terre, from Oua-Tilou to Ouinné. It occurs in riparian forest on ultramafic soil between 5 and 550 m asl. The main impacts identified come from ongoing mining activities and bushfires. The EOO and AOO are estimated to be 3,867 km2 and 36 km2, while the number of locations is estimated to be six . Thiollierea propinqua is assigned a status of Vulnerable VU: B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+B2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) with a continuing decline of all sub-criteria.

Geographical area


Thiollierea propinqua is an endemic shrub found in Grande Terre, from Oua-Tilou to Ouinné.

Population


Population size is unknown. It is known from seven sub-populations: Col de Hô, cap bocage, Versant nord-est du cap bocage, Kouaoua:Ndouvéra, Massif de Bogota, Canala, Thio : Ton N'Deu, Forêt de Sailles, Camp des sapins.

Habitat


Thiollierea propinqua occurs in riparian forest on ultramafic soil between 5 and 550 m asl.

Threats


Some subpopulations may be threatened by mining activities: Ouinné (SMGM) and some of the lowest subpopulations may be threatened by bushfires (Boulinda, Tango).

Conservation


Unprotected by legislation, This species does not occur in any protected area. This species would benefit from ex-situ and in-situ emergency conservation actions. It is recommended to inform the DSCGR (emergency services), responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort on the presence of the species in the concerned areas.

Bibliography


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Barrabé, L., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Goxe, J., Héquet, V., Lannuzel, G., Suprin, B., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Cazé, H.

Contributor(s): Mouly, A.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Maura, J., Warimavute, G.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Thiollierea propinqua (Brongn. & Gris) Paudyal & Delprete
endemique
UICN

Synonymes

Morierina propinqua Brongn. & Gris.,

Statut liste rouge -

Vulnérable (VU) , évaluée le 21/04/2017

Description

Habitat

Forêts denses humides (F)
 


Thiollierea propinqua est un arbuste endémique réparti du Oua-Tilou au Nord à la basse vallée de la Ouinné au Sud de la Grande Terre. On le trouve en forêt rivulaire de basse altitude sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude de 5-550 m. Les principales menaces pesant sur cette espèce provient de l'activité minière et des feux de brousse. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement estimées à 36 km² et 3,867 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé de six. En conséquence, Thiollierea propinqua est considéré Vulnérable (VU) selon le critère B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) avec une estimation de six localités.

Aire géographique


Thiollierea propinqua est un arbuste endémique réparti du Oua-Tilou au Nord à la basse vallée de la Ouinné au Sud de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue. Le nombre de sous population est estimé à 7: Col de Hô, cap bocage, Versant nord-est du cap bocage, Kouaoua:Ndouvéra, Massif de Bogota, Canala, Thio : Ton N'Deu, Forêt de Sailles, Camp des sapins.

Habitat


Espèce qui se trouve en forêt rivulaire de basse altitude sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude de 5-550 m.

Menaces


Certaines sous-populations peuvent être impactées par l'activité minière: Ouinné (SMGM) et les feux (Boulinda,Tango).

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégée réglementairement et n'est recensée dans aucune réserve. Cette espèce bénéficierait de mesures de conservation d'urgence in situ et ex situ. Et il est recommandé d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) sur la présence de l’espèce dans les zones concernées.

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Barrabé, L., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Goxe, J., Héquet, V., Lannuzel, G., Suprin, B., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Cazé, H.

Contributor(s): Mouly, A.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Maura, J., Warimavute, G.


Répartition géographique