Taxonomy

endemique
UICN

Synonyms

Psychotria rupicola var. brevifolia Baill. ex Guillaumin

Red List Status -

Vulnerable (VU) , assessed in 15/09/2016

Psychotria declieuxioides is an endemic shrub, found in Grande Terre from Poro to Nakéty in the north of New Caledonia. Psychotria declieuxioides occurs in shrubland or forest on ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 300- 1,020 m asl. Ongoing mining activities impact several subpopulations. Indeed, extraction projections on the coming 25 years will lead to the decline of populations, especially in Nakéty-Euréka_Ménélick (NMC), Nakéty (SMT), CFTMC (SLN), Kouaoua (SLN). The habitat of Psychotria declieuxioides is moreover degraded by bushfires. Its area of occupancy (AOO) and extent of occurrence (EOO) being respectively estimated to 48 and 356 km², while the number of locations is estimated to be six. Psychotria declieuxioides is therefore assessed as Vulnerable (VU) with criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) with a continuing decline of all concerned sub-criteria.

Geographical area


Psychotria declieuxioides is an endemic shrub, found in Grande Terre from Poro to Nakéty in the North of New Caledonia.

Population


It is known from six sub-populations : Poro, Kouaoua mine SLN, Kouaoua : Mine Nea, Mt Menazi, Kouaoua : Dahi/Boakaine, Nakety : Mine Oblen.

Habitat


It occurs in shrubland or forest on ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 300- 1,020 m asl.

Threats


Ongoing mining activities impact several subpopulations. Indeed, extraction projections on the coming 25 years will lead to the decline of populations, especially in Nakéty-Euréka_Ménélick (NMC), Nakéty (SMT), CFTMC (SLN), Kouaoua (SLN). The habitat of Psychotria declieuxioides is moreover degraded by bushfires.

Conservation


Psychotria declieuxioides is not protected by legislation and it does not occur in any protected areas. It is recommended to add this species to provincial protected species list and to realize multiplication tests in order to assist future planting operations.

Bibliography


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Barrabé L. 2013. Systématique et Evolution du genre Psychotria (Rubiaceæ) en Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Barrabé L, Maggia L, Pillon Y, Rigault F, Mouly A, Davis AP, Buerki S 2014. New Caledonian lineages of Psychotria (Rubiaceae) reveal different evolutionary histories and the largest documented plant radiation for the archipelago. Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution(71) , p.15-35.

Experts


Assessor(s): Barrabé, L., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Cazé, H., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Hequet, V., Maura, J., McCoy, S., Suprin, B., Vandrot, H., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Lannuzel, G., Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Maura, J., Tanguy, V., Ramon, L.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
UICN

Synonymes

Psychotria rupicola var. brevifolia Baill. ex Guillaumin

Statut liste rouge -

Vulnérable (VU) , évaluée le 15/09/2016

Psychotria declieuxioides est un arbuste endémique de la côte Est de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie, de Poro à Nakéty. On le retrouve en forêt dense humide, maquis paraforestier, maquis sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude allant de 300 à 1,020 m. L'exploitation minière en cours sur la côte Est touche plusieurs sous-populations. En effet, le périmètre soumis à autorisation pour les 25 années à venir entraîne le déclin de plusieurs populations, notamment : Nakéty-Euréka_Ménélick (NMC), Nakéty (SMT), CFTMC (SLN), Kouaoua (SLN). L'habitat de P.declieuxioides est de plus dégradé par les feux de brousse. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement de 356 et 48 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé à six. En conséquence, Psychotria declieuxioides est considéré Vulnerable (VU) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de l'ensemble des sous-critères concernés.

Aire géographique


Psychotria declieuxioides est un arbuste endémique de la côte Est de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie, de Poro à Nakéty.

Population


Espèce connue de 6 sous populations : Poro, Kouaoua mine SLN, Kouaoua : Mine Nea, Mt Menazi, Kouaoua : Dahi/Boakaine, Nakety : Mine Oblen.

Habitat


Espèce de forêt dense humide, maquis paraforestier, maquis sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude allant de 300 à 1,020 m.

Menaces


L'exploitation minière en cours sur la côte Est touche plusieurs sous-populations. En effet, le périmètre soumis à autorisation pour les 25 années à venir entraîne le déclin de plusieurs populations, notamment : Nakéty-Euréka_Ménélick (NMC), Nakéty (SMT), CFTMC (SLN), Kouaoua (SLN). L'habitat de P.declieuxioides est de plus dégradé par les feux de brousse.

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégée règlementairement. Aucune sous-population ne se trouve dans une aire protégée. Il est recommandé d'inscrire cette espèce sur les listes d'espèces protégées provinciales et de mener des tests de multiplication afin d'appuyer des actions de restauration.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Barrabé L. 2013. Systématique et Evolution du genre Psychotria (Rubiaceæ) en Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Barrabé L, Maggia L, Pillon Y, Rigault F, Mouly A, Davis AP, Buerki S 2014. New Caledonian lineages of Psychotria (Rubiaceae) reveal different evolutionary histories and the largest documented plant radiation for the archipelago. Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution(71) , p.15-35.

Experts


Assessor(s): Barrabé, L., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Cazé, H., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Hequet, V., Maura, J., McCoy, S., Suprin, B., Vandrot, H., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Lannuzel, G., Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Maura, J., Tanguy, V., Ramon, L.


Répartition géographique