Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Critically Endangered (CR) , assessed in 27/10/2017

Protected species -

in Northern Province , in Northern Province

Medicosma latifolia is endemic to New Caledonia, known only from Baie Ugué, on the east coast of Grande Terre. This shrub is found in riverine forest on ultramafic substrate, M. latifolia occurs up to 50 m asl. Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are both estimated at 4 km², and it occurs in only one location. The main threat is uncontrolled fires. Therefore, M. latifolia is listed as Critically Endangered (CR) under criteria B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v).

Geographical area


M. latifolia is endemic to New Caledonia, whre it is only known from Baie Ugué on the east coast of Grande Terre.

Population


Total population size in unknown, but recent field observations at baie Ugué indicate a healthy population with good regeneration.

Habitat


M. latifolia occurs in riverine forest on ultramafic substrate up to 50 m asl.

Threats


The main threat is posed by uncontrolled bushfires.

Conservation


M. latifolia is protected by legislation in Province Nord, but does not occur in any protected areas. This species would benefit from ex situ and in situ emergency conservation actions. It is recommended to monitor and preserve known populations, and to inform the local authority responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort about the presence of the species in the concerned areas. It would also be advised to run multiplication tests in order to assist future planting operations. Finally, prospection at Cap Bocage and its surroundings (Baie Ugué and col de Hô) is needed to better estimate the size of the population and understand potential threats.

Bibliography


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger critique d'extinction (CR) , évaluée le 27/10/2017

Espèce protégée -

en Province Nord

Description

Habitat

Les maquis miniers (M)
 


Medicosma latifolia est un arbuste micro-endémique de la Baie Ugué, sur la côte est de la Grande Terre, en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce n’est connue que d’une seule collecte en formations rivulaires, à environ 50 m d’altitude, constituant l'unique localité. ses zones d'occurrence (EOO) et d'occupation (AOO) sont toutes deux égales à 4 km². La principale menace provient des feux de brousse. En conséquence, M. latifolia est considéré En Danger Critique d’Extinction (CR) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v), avec un déclin continu de la qualité de l'habitat et du nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Espèce micro-endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, connue uniquement de la baie Ugué, sur la côte est de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille des populations est inconnue, mais les observation de terrain récentes à la baie Ugué indiquent une population bien portante avec une bonne regénération.

Habitat


Arbuste de formations rivulaires sur substrat ultramafique jusqu'à environ 50 m d’altitude.

Menaces


Menace principale : feux

Conservation


Cette espèce est protégée règlementairement en Province Nord, mais n'est présente dans aucune aire protégée. L'espèce bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation ex situ et in situ. Il est recommandé d'assurer le suivi de la population existante, de préserver la population viable sur des périmètres délimités et d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) sur la présence de l’espèce dans les zones concernées. Il est de plus préconisé de réaliser des tests de multiplication pour envisager des programmes de replantation. Enfin, des prospections au Cap Bocage et ses environs (Col de Hô et Baie Ugué) sont necessaires pour mieux estimer la taille de la population de l'espèce et son statut de menace.

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Warimavute, G.


Répartition géographique