Taxonomy

Pichonia lecomtei (Guillaumin) T.D.Penn.
endemique
protegee
UICN

Synonyms

Lucuma lecomtei GuillauminRhamnoluma lecomtei (Guillaumin) Aubrév.

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 10/05/2016

Protected species -

in Southern Province

Pichonia lecomtei is an endemic shrub or small tree up to 6 m tall, found in southern Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known from two localities (Tontouta and Dumbéa). Pichonia lecomtei occurs in shrubland on an ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 50-280 m asl. Recurrent bushfires and on-going mining activities are the main identified threats. Unprotected species by legislation, Pichonia lecomtei is found in one protected area (Réserve naturelle de la Haute-Dumbéa). Its area of occupancy (AOO) and area of occurrence (EOO) are respectively estimated to 52 km² and 279 km² while the number of locations is estimated to be three (Dumbéa, lower part of Tontouta, northern branch of Tontouta). Pichonia lecomtei is therefore considered Endangered (EN) according to criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+B2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v).

Geographical area


Pichonia lecomtei is found in southern Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known from two localities (Tontouta and Dumbéa) and from one old herbarirum specimen (1916) from an imprecise locality in Yaté. Recent botanical inventories of reserves near Yaté have not relocated the species and it is presumed that this species is not present anymore in this locality.

Population


Population size is unknown, however this species is abundant in Tontouta and sporadically observed in Dumbéa .

Habitat


Pichonia lecomtei occurs in shrubland on an ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 50-280 m asl.

Threats


Recurrent bushfires and on-going mining activities in Tontouta and Dumbéa contribute to the loss and degradation of habitat, especially to erosion. Uncontrolled fires sweep across lowlands of New Caledonia each year, especially during the dry season (an average of 20,000 ha of land is burnt each year).New Caledonia contains 20-30% of the world’s nickel resources. Intense mining activities since the late 19th century has generated soil erosion (1.2% of bare ground mapped by SPOT5 in 2007). Based on the distribution of metal-rich soils and site accessibility, these threats are predictable and planned (rise in nickel production from 60,000 to 200,000 tonnes per year between 2013 and 2015).

Conservation


Unprotected species by legislation, Pichonia lecomtei is found in one protected area (Parc Provincial de la Haute-Dumbéa). It is recommended to assess the number of individuals in both localities. This species would benefit from ex-situ conservation actions.

Bibliography


Swenson U. and Muzinger J. 2012. Revision of Pichonia (Sapotaceae) in New Caledonia. Australian Systematic Botany(25) , p.31-48.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Cazé, H., Garnier, D., Goxe, J., Héquet, V., McCoy, S.

Reviewer(s): Gâteblé, G.

Contributor(s): Munzinger, J., Swenson, U.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Bernard-Musmann, M.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Pichonia lecomtei (Guillaumin) T.D.Penn.
endemique
protegee
UICN

Synonymes

Lucuma lecomtei GuillauminRhamnoluma lecomtei (Guillaumin) Aubrév.

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 10/05/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Description

Description Générale

Arbuste.

Habitat

Maquis, Sud de la Grande-Terre notamment vallée de la Tontouta (M)

Substrat

ultramafique

Reproduction

Floraison : juin à août.

Particularité

Statut : VU A2
 

Synonyme

Lucuma lecomtei Guillaumin
 


Arbuste ou petit arbre jusqu'à 6m de hauteur, trouvé dans le sud de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue de deux localités (Tontouta et Dumbéa). Pichonia lecomtei se trouve sur maquis ultramafique dans une gamme altitudinale de 50-280 m. Espèce non protégée par la legislation, elle se trouve dans une aire protégée (Dumbéa). Il est recommandé de prospecter la population en réserve de Dumbéa pour évaluer le nombre d'individus. Cette espèce pourrait beneficier d'actions de conservation ex-situ. Sa zone d'occurence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement de 972km² et 52 km² et il y a 3 sous populations. Pichonia lecomtei est donc considérée comme En danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+B2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v).

Aire géographique


Pichonia lecomtei est trouvée dans le sud le la Grande Terre. Cette espèce est connue de 2 localités (Tontouta et Dumbéa) et d'une ancienne collection de localité non précisée à Yaté. De récent inventaires botaniques de la réserve de Yaté n'ont pas retrouvé les espèces et nous pensons que ce site n'existe plus. (Revision of Pichonia (Sapotaceae) in New-Caledonia- Swenson et Muzinger).

Population


La taille de la popualtion est inconnue, elle est noté abondante dans la Tontouta et et répartie aléatoirement dans la Dumbéa.

Habitat


Pichonia lecomtei est trouvée en maquis sur substrat ultramafique dans une gamme altitudinale de 50-280m.

Menaces


Les feux de brousses récurrents et les activités minières en cours dans la vallée de Tontouta et sur Dumbéa contribuent à la perte et la dégradation de l'habitat, et en particulier à l'érosion. Les feux incontrôlés balaient terres de basse altitude de Nouvelle-Calédonie chaque année, en particulier pendant la saison sèche ( une moyenne de 20 000 ha de terres est brûlé chaque année). La Nouvelle-Caledonie contient 20-30 % des ressources de nickel au monde . Depuis la fin du 19e siècle les activités minières intenses ont généré l'érosion du sol ( 1,2% du sol nu cartographié par SPOT5 en 2007 ) . Sur la base de la répartition des sols riches en métaux et l'accessibilité du site , ces menaces sont prévisibles et prévues ( augmentation de la production de nickel de 60.000 à 200.000 tonnes par an entre 2013 et 2015 ) .

Conservation


Pichonia lecomtei n'est pas protégée par la legislation, elle se trouve dans une aire protégée (Parc provincial de la Haute Dumbéa). Il est recommandé de prospecter la population en réserve de Dumbéa pour évaluer le nombre d'individus. Cette espèce pourrait beneficier d'actions de conservation ex-situ. Graine recalcitrante.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Swenson U. and Muzinger J. 2012. Revision of Pichonia (Sapotaceae) in New Caledonia. Australian Systematic Botany(25) , p.31-48.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Cazé, H., Garnier, D., Goxe, J., Hequet, V., McCoy, S.

Reviewer(s): Gâteblé, G.

Contributor(s): Swenson, U., Munzinger, J.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Bernard-musmann, M.


Répartition géographique