Taxonomy

endemique
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 08/09/2017

Oxera merytifolia is a woody climber endemic to New Caledonia, where it is restricted to the north east of Grande Terre. This species is known from two subpopulations (Pombeï and Haute Tchamba), found in undergrowth forest on volcano-sedimentary substrate from 400 to 500 m asl. Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are estimated at 14 km² and 12 km², respectively. Population size is unknown. Main threats are feral pigs (Sus scrofa) and rusa deer (Rusa timorensis russa), that cause habitat degradation. Oxera merytifolia is therefore listed as Endangered (EN) under criteria B1ab(iii)+2ab(iii).

Geographical area


O. merytifolia is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is restricted to the north east of Grande Terre. It is known from two subpopulations (Pombeï and Haute Tchamba).

Population


Population size is unknown, but field surveys indicate that its population size is small with little to no regeneration observed.

Habitat


O. merytifolia occurs in forest undergrowth on soils derived from volcano-sedimentary substrate between 400 and 500 m asl.

Threats


The main threat is habitat degradation, caused by feral pigs (Sus scrofa) and Rusa deer (Rusa timorensis).

Conservation


This species is not protected by any local legislation and it doesn't occur in any protected areas. This species would benefit from emergency in situ conservation actions. It is proposed to monitor the known populations and to preserve a viable population on a delimited site, where invasive species are under control. It is also recommended to inform the local authority responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort about the presence of the species in the concerned areas. Finally, knowledge improvement on the species (multiplication tests) would also be needed for ex situ conservation.

Bibliography


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Mabberley DJ, de Kok RPJ. 2004. Labiatae. In: Morat P,ed. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendance.

Gâteble G. 2016. Flore ornementale de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Barrabé L, Karnadi-Abdelkader,G, Ounemoa,J,de Kok RPJ., Robert N, Gâteble,G. 2015. Recircumscription of Oxera (Lamiaceae: Ajugoideae) ta include Faradaya based on molecular and anatomical data. Botanical Journal of the Linnean Society(179) , p.693-711.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Gâteblé, G., Barrabé, L., Fleurot, D., Amice, R., Cazé, H., Bruy, D., Hequet, V., Vandrot, H., Butin, J., Mandaoué, L., Haverkamp, C., Dumontet, V., Laudereau, C.

Reviewer(s): Meyer, S.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 08/09/2017

Description

Description Générale

Arbuste monocaule ou réitéré.

Répartition en Nouvelle-Calédonie

Cette espèce a été récoltée dans le Centre de la Grande Terre : dans le Vallée de la Tchamba.

Habitat

En forêt dense humide.

Phénologie (Fleur)

Fleurs aux pétales blancs et roses, et aux sépales orange vif, sur des inflorescences ramifiées caulinaires situées à la base du tronc.


Oxera merytifolia est un arbuste sarmenteux de sous-bois de forêt dense humide, restreint au nord-est de la Grande Terre. Cette espèce est connue de 2 sous-populations (Pombeï et Haute Tchamba). Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont estimées à 14 et 12 km², respectivement. La principale menace provient de la dégradation de l'habitat, causée par les espèces invasives (cochons (Sus scrofa) et cerfs (Rusa timorensis russa). En conséquence, Oxera merytifolia est considéré En danger d'extinction (EN) selon les critères B1ab(iii)+2ab(iii).

Aire géographique


Espèce connue uniquement de Pombeï et de la Haute Tchamba, dans le nord-est de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille des populations n'est pas connue mais les observations de terrain indiquent une petite population, peu abondante avec un manque de régénération.

Habitat


Espèce de sous-bois de la forêt dense humide sur substrat volcano-sédimentaire entre 400-500 m d'altitude.

Menaces


La principale menace est la dégradation de l'habitat, causée par les espèces invasives, notamment les cochons (Sus scrofa) et les cerfs (Rusa timorensis).

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est protégée par aucun code de l'environnement provincial et n'est présente dans aucune aire protégée. L'espèce bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation in situ: assurer le suivi de la population existante, préserver la population viable sur un périmètre délimité ainsi que réguler les espèces invasives dans la zone. Il est aussi recommandé d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) de la situation de l'espèce sur les zones identifiées. Et une amélioration de la connaissance de l'espèce (maitrise de la multiplication en pépinière) est aussi nécessaire pour la conservation ex situ.

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Mabberley DJ, de Kok RPJ. 2004. Labiatae. In: Morat P,ed. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendance.

Gâteble G. 2016. Flore ornementale de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Barrabé L, Karnadi-Abdelkader,G, Ounemoa,J,de Kok RPJ., Robert N, Gâteble,G. 2015. Recircumscription of Oxera (Lamiaceae: Ajugoideae) ta include Faradaya based on molecular and anatomical data. Botanical Journal of the Linnean Society(179) , p.693-711.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Gâteblé, G., Barrabé, L., Fleurot, D., Amice, R., Cazé, H., Bruy, D., Hequet, V., Vandrot, H., Butin, J., Mandaoué, L., Haverkamp, C., Dumontet, V., Laudereau, C.

Reviewer(s): Meyer, S.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique