Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Critically Endangered (CR) , assessed in 09/06/2017

Protected species -

in Northern Province , in Northern Province

Pandanus belepensis is an endemic shrub of New Caledonia, only known from Belep islands in the north of Grande Terre. This species is known from two subpopulations (Ilot Daouinth and Ile Art in Belep) but recent field propections did not found the subpopulations in Ilot Daouinth. It is found in dense humid forest on ultramafic substrate at an average altitude of 100 m asl. Main identified threats are linked to habitat quality damage by uncontrolled bushfires. Population size is estimated to be fewer than 1000 mature individuals. Its area of occupancy (AOO) and extent of occurrence (EOO) being both equal to 8 km² with only one location (Ile Art). Pandanus belepensis is therefore considered Critically Endangered (CR) according to criteria B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) with a continuing decline of all concerned criteria.

Geographical area


Pandanus belepensis is an endemic shrub of New Caledonia, only known from Belep islands in the north of Grande Terre. This species is known from two subpopulations (Ilot Daouinth and Ile Art in Belep) but recent field prospections did not found the subpopulations in Ilot Daouinth.

Population


Population size of P. belepensisis unknown but the population at Ile Art is estimated to be fewer than 1000 mature individuals.

Habitat


P. belepensis is found in dense humid forest on ultramafic substrate at an average altitude 100 m asl.

Threats


The main threats identified are linked to habitat quality damage by uncontrolled bushfires.

Conservation


The species is protected by lesgislation in Province Nord and Province Sud but it is not found in any protected area. As this species is severely threatened by bushfires, its stations must be included in the maps of Sécurité Civile. It is recommended to carry further prospection in the Bélep archipelago including Ilot Daouinth and to monitor the known population (population size) and to collect seeds to carry ex-situ conservation (seeds banking and for example in province Nord nursery in Koumac).

Bibliography


Callmander, M.W.; Muzinger, J.; Stone, B.C. 2011. Pandanus belepensis (Pandanaceae), a new species from the Belep Archipelago (New Caledonia). Phytotaxa(38) , p.5.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Munzinger J., Morat Ph., Jaffré T., Gâteblé G., Pillon Y., Tronchet F., Veillon J.-M. and M. Chalopin 2016. FLORICAL: Checklist of the vascular indigenous flora of New Caledonia. vers. 22.IV.2016.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrabé, L., Cazé, H., Chambrey, C., Garnier, D., Hequet, V., Letocart, D., Letocart, I.

Reviewer(s): Callmander, M.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger critique d'extinction (CR) , évaluée le 09/06/2017

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud , en Province Nord

Description

Arbuste ramifié de 2m de haut et de 8cm de diamètre.

Feuilles :  ensiformes,  coriaces, longues de 60-120cm et larges de 2-2,5cm, élargies en gaîne (5-6 x 2,5-3,5cm)  à l'insertion   ; marge épineuses à partir de 20-25cm au'dessus de la base, jusqu'a sommet.

Fleurs :  les mâles inconnues; les femelles avec un ovaire à2-5 loges, 2-5 stigmates sub-cicrulaires à réniformes.

Fruits :   formés  d'environ 140 drupes, groupées en syncarpes sub-globuleux , petits,  9 x 10-15cm.

Distribution

Cette espèce n'est connue que de l'Archipel des Belep: Art et Niémane

Références

"Pandanus belepensis (Pandanaceae), a new species from the Belep Archipelago (New Caledonia)" par MARTIN W. CALLMANDER, JÉRÔME MUNZINGER, BENJAMIN C. STONE

Phytotaxa 38: 36–40  (2011) - Copyright © 2011 Magnolia Press


Pandanus belepensis est un arbuste endémique connu uniquement des îles Belep dans le nord de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce de forêt humide de basse altitude (100 m) est menacée par les feux de brousse assez fréquents dans la zone qui détruisent la qualité de l'habitat. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont toutes deux estimées à 8 km² tandis que le nombre de localité est estimé à une. Le nombre d'individus est estimé inférieur à 1000 individus matures. En conséquence, Pandanus belepensis est considéré En Danger Critique d'Extinction (CR) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de l'ensemble des sous-critères concernés.

Aire géographique


Espèce endémique de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, connue uniquement des îles Belep. Cette espèce est connue de deux sous-populations (Ilot Daouinth and Ile Art in Belep) mais suite à de récentes prospections la sous population de Daouinth n'a pas été retrouvée. On estime donc que la sous-population de l'Ilot Daouinth n'existe plus.

Population


La population totale n'est pas connue mais celle de l'ile Art est estimée à moins de 1000 individus matures.

Habitat


Espèce de forêt dense humide sur ultramafique à une altitude d'environ 100 m.

Menaces


La menace principale identifiée est les feux de brousse assez fréquents aux îles Belep qui dégradent la qualité de l'habitat.

Conservation


Pandanus belepensis est protégé règlementairement en Province Nord et Province Sud mais n'est pas présent en aire protégée. Cette espèce étant gravement menacée par les feux de brousse, ses localisations devraient être intégrées sur les atlas de la Sécurité Civile. Il est recommandé de mener des prospections dans l'Ilot Daouinth et sur d'autres îles de Belep et d'assurer le suivi de la population connu, de mieux estimer la taille de la population et de collecter des graines afin d'assurer sa conservation ex-situ (banque de graines), par exemple dans les pépinières de la Province Nord à Koumac.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Callmander, M.W.; Muzinger, J.; Stone, B.C. 2011. Pandanus belepensis (Pandanaceae), a new species from the Belep Archipelago (New Caledonia). Phytotaxa(38) , p.5.

Munzinger J., Morat Ph., Jaffré T., Gâteblé G., Pillon Y., Tronchet F., Veillon J.-M. and M. Chalopin 2016. FLORICAL: Checklist of the vascular indigenous flora of New Caledonia. vers. 22.IV.2016.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrabé, L., Cazé, H., Chambrey, C., Garnier, D., Hequet, V., Letocart, D., Letocart, I.

Reviewer(s): Callmander, M.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique