Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 28/06/2016

Protected species -

in Northern Province , in Northern Province

Corybas echinulus is an endemic terrestrial orchid found in the southern part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is known from Mont Mou to Mont Nengoné. It is found in humid forest or in shrubland on ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 180-975 m asl. Main identified threat is linked to habitat damage by invasive species (feral pigs). Its area of occupancy (AOO) and extent of occurrence (EOO) being estimated respectively to 52 and 1,899 km², Corybas echinulus is considered Endangered (EN) using criteria B1ab(iii)+2ab(iii) with an estimation of five locations and an estimated decline of its habitat quality.

Geographical area


Corybas echinulus is an endemic terrestrial orchid found in the southern part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia.

Population


Population size is unknown. Experts report that Corybas echinulus can form broad sub-populations of several dozens to several hundreds individuals.

Habitat


Corybas echinulus occurs in humid forest or in shrubland on ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 180-975 m asl.

Threats


The main threat impacting this species come from habitat degradation caused by invasive species (feral pigs) and mining activities. Some subpopulations may be threatened by on-going mining activities: Goro (VALE). Additionnal threat comes from potential mining activities in Pernod mining concession. The habitat of C. echinulus has suffered damages in the past leading to habitat loss and fragmentation but experts report that it do not suffer any further deterioration. C. echinulus sub-populations seems stable today.

Conservation


Corybas echinulus is not protected in Province Nord and Province Sud but occurs in two protected areas : Mont Mou, Rivière bleue. It is recommended to prospect further based on the newly developed comprehensive key for the Corybas Genus identification (2016).

Bibliography


Faria E. 2016. Diversité du genre Corybas Salisb. (Orchidaceae, Diurideae) en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Adansonia(38) , p.175-198.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Hallé N.; Aubréville A.; Leroy J. F.; 1977. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances. Volume 8: Orchidaceae.

Experts


Assessor(s): Laudereau, C., Butin, J., Antheaume, C., Cazé, H., Cazé, H., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Maura, J.

Reviewer(s): Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 28/06/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Nord

Corybas echinulus est une orchidée terrestre, parfois saxicole, endémique présente du Mont Mou en limite nord et au Mont Nengoné en limite sud de la Grande Terre. Peu commune, elle se trouve en forêt dense humide et maquis à une altitude allant de 180 à 975 m. La principale menace provient de la dégradation de l'habitat liée à l'activité minière et à l'impact des cochons. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement de 380 km² et 20 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé à 5. En conséquence, Corybas echinulus est considéré En danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(iii)+2ab(iii) avec un déclin continu estimé de la qualité de son habitat.

Aire géographique


Corybas echinulus est une orchidée terrestre, parfois saxicole, endémique présente du Mont Mou au Nord et au Mont Nengoné au sud de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue. Les experts notent que Corybas echinulus peut former de vastes colonies de plusieurs dizaines à plusieurs centaines d’individus.

Habitat


Espèce localisée et peu commune observée jusqu’ici dans le sud de la Grande Terre en forêt dense humide et maquis sur sol ultramafique entre 180 et 975 m d’altitude. Elle est particulièrement prolifique en forêt dense bien conservée, aux abords de marécages ou le long de creeks pérennes ou intermittents à la limite du niveau d’eau, toujours en situation ombragée et très humide, sur terrain frais et profond, à nu ou dans la litière des feuilles mortes. Plus rarement, elle se rencontre parmi les blocs de péridotites dans les interstices retenant un peu d’humus ou encore parmi une végétation de maquis d’altitude mais toujours en situation ombragée et très humide.

Menaces


La principale menace provient de la dégradation de l'habitat liée à l'impact des cochons et à l'activité minière. Certaines sous-populations peuvent être impactées actuellement par l'activité minière: Goro (VALE). Une menace aditionnelle proviendrait de la mine si la concession du creek Pernod venait à être exploité dans le futur. La transformation de la forêt dense en maquis dans le Grand Sud a sévèrement fragmenté son habitat par le passé mais aucune nouvelle dégradation de ses populations ou de son habitat n’est à noter aujourd’hui et les experts considèrent que ses effectifs sont aujourd’hui stables.

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégée par les codes de l'environnement mais est présente dans deux réserves : Mont Mou, Rivière bleue. Il est recommandé de continuer les prospections sur la base des nouvelles connaissances acquises et notamment la mise en disposition de clefs d'identifications pour l'ensemble des Corybas (2016).

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Hallé N.; Aubréville A.; Leroy J. F.; 1977. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances. Volume 8: Orchidaceae.

Faria E. 2016. Diversité du genre Corybas Salisb. (Orchidaceae, Diurideae) en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Adansonia(38) , p.175-198.

Experts


Assessor(s): Laudereau, C., Butin, J., Antheaume, C., Cazé, H., Cazé, H., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Maura, J.

Reviewer(s): Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique