Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 28/06/2016

Protected species -

in Northern Province , in Northern Province

Corybas pignalii is an endemic terrestrial orchid only found in Koghis, Vallée de la Thy, Dumbéa and Mont Mou, in the southern part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. It occurs in humid forest at an altitudinal range 100-750 m asl. Its area of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are respectively 76 km² and 20 km², while the number of locations is equal to four. Main identified threats are linked to tourism, recreation areas development (Koghi) and habitat degradation caused by invasive species (feral pigs) allow us to project a continuous decline in the quality and surface of habitat. Corybas pignalii is considered Endangered EN: B1ab (iii)+B2ab(iii).

Geographical area


Corybas pignalii is an endemic terrestrial orchid only found in Koghis, Vallée de la Thy, Dumbéa and Mont Mou, in the southern part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


Corybas pignalii occurs in humid forest at an altitudinal range 100-750 m asl.

Threats


This species is highly threatened as the area where tourist's activity take place in Koghis is located near the population of Corybas pignalii. The main threat identified is land clearing due to the developement of tourist activities and habitat degradation caused by invasive species (feral pigs).

Conservation


Unprotected species by legislation, Corybas pignalii occurs in one protected area: Vallée de la Thy. Further prospections in Vallée de la Thy are recommended. And lastly, as the species is present in a private proprety, awareness to the owner's and tourists is highly recommended.

Bibliography


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Faria E. 2016. Diversité du genre Corybas Salisb. (Orchidaceae, Diurideae) en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Adansonia(38) , p.175-198.

Hallé N.; Aubréville A.; Leroy J. F.; 1977. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances. Volume 8: Orchidaceae.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Laudereau, C., Butin, J., Antheaume, C., Cazé, H., Cazé, H., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Maura, J.

Reviewer(s): Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 28/06/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Nord

Corybas pignalii est une orchidée terrestre endémique connue de quatres sous-populations sur la Grande Terre: les Koghis ainsi que la vallée de Thy, Dumbéa et Mont Mou. Elle se trouve forêt dense humide à une altitude de 100 à 750 m. La principale menace provient de la dégradation de l'habitat liée au développement d'activités touristiques . Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement de 76 et 20 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé à quatre. En conséquence, Corybas pignalii est considéré en danger d'extinction (EN) selon les critères B1ab(iii)+2ab(iii) avec un déclin continu estimé de la qualité et de la surface de l'habitat.

Aire géographique


Corybas pignalii est une orchidée terrestre endémique connue de quatres sous-populations sur la Grande Terre: les Koghis ainsi que la vallée de Thy, Dumbéa et Mont Mou.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue. Elle peut former de vastes colonies tapissant le sol comptant plusieurs centaines de spécimens surquelques mètres carrés. Comme Corybas echinulus, elle s’établit aussi dans les anfractuosités rocheuses des blocs de péridotite où un peu d’humus a pu s’accumuler mais elle y forme de plus faibles colonies.

Habitat


Espèce de forêt dense humide à une altitude de 100 à 750m. L’espèce se montre particulièrement prolifique dans les sous-bois fortement ombragés des forêts denses et humides dans la litière ou à sol nu. Appréciant les zones ombragées, elle tolère cependant un milieu plus sec que d’autres espèces calédoniennes comme C. echinulus ou C. neocaledonicus qui se confinent aux abords de rivières ou aux forêts de mousses.

Menaces


La principale menace provient de la dégradation de l'habitat liée au développement d'activités touristiques .

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégé par les codes de l'environnement, mais elle est présente dans une réserve : Vallée de la Thy. Il est recommandé de sensibiliser le propriétaire et le public sur l'espèce. De nouvelles prospections sont à effectuer afin de mieux évaluer la répartition de l'espèce.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334) , p.177-219.

Hallé N.; Aubréville A.; Leroy J. F.; 1977. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances. Volume 8: Orchidaceae.

Faria E. 2016. Diversité du genre Corybas Salisb. (Orchidaceae, Diurideae) en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Adansonia(38) , p.175-198.

Experts


Assessor(s): Laudereau, C., Butin, J., Antheaume, C., Cazé, H., Cazé, H., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Maura, J.

Reviewer(s): Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique