Taxonomy

Psychotria gateblei Barrabé, sp. nov. ined., {Morat 7942}
endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Critically Endangered (CR) , assessed in 15/09/2016

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" is an endemic shrub of New Caledonia, known from Dogny in Grande Terre. It occurs in forest on volcano-sedimentary at an altitudinal range 400- 1,000 m asl. The main threat impacting this species comes from habitat degradation caused by invasive species (rusa rusa deer (Rusa timorensis) and Sus scrofa), in particular in the lowest part of Plateau Dogny. Its area of occupancy (AOO) and extent of occurrence (EOO) are both equal to 12 km², while the species is known to exist at only a single location. Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" is therefore assessed as Critically Endangered (CR) with criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) with a continuing decline of all concerned sub-criteria.

Geographical area


Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" is an endemic shrub of New Caledonia, known from Dogny in Grande Terre.

Population


It is known from a single population : Dogny. Only one plant was observed.

Habitat


Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" occurs in forest on volcano-sedimentary at an altitudinal range 400- 1,000 m asl.

Threats


The main threat impacting this species comes from habitat degradation caused by invasive species (rusa rusa deer (Rusa timorensis) and Sus scrofa), in particular in the lowest part of Plateau Dogny.

Conservation


Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" is not protected by legislation and it does not occur in any protected area. This species would benefit from ex-situ and in-situ emergency conservation actions. It is proposed to ensure the follow-up of known sub-populations, to preserve a viable population on delimited perimeters. It would be moreover advised to realize multiplication tests in order to assist future planting operations. It is recommended to inform the Conservatoire d'espaces naturels de Nouvelle-Calédonie (New Caledonia natural spaces conservatory), which coordinates the New caledonian Invasive Species Programme, on the situation of the species in the concerned areas. Moreover a protected area should be etablished in Plateau de Dogny area.

Bibliography


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Barrabé, L., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Cazé, H., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Hequet, V., Maura, J., McCoy, S., Suprin, B., Vandrot, H., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Lannuzel, G., Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V., Ramon, L., Maura, J.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Psychotria gateblei Barrabé, sp. nov. ined., {Morat 7942}
endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger critique d'extinction (CR) , évaluée le 15/09/2016

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" est un arbuste endémique, connu uniquement du Dogny. On le retrouve en forêt humide de basse et haute altitude sur volcano-sédimentaire (400- 1,000 m). La principale menace provient de la dégradation de la qualité de l'habitat due aux espèce invasives (cerf et cochon sauvage). Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont de 12 km² et le nombre de localité est estimé à une. En conséquence, Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" est considéré En danger critique d’extinction (CR) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de l'ensemble des sous-critères concernés.

Aire géographique


Psychotria sp. nov. "gateblei" est un arbuste endémique, connu uniquement du Dogny

Population


Espèce connue d'une seule population : Dogny. Un seul pied a été observé.

Habitat


Espèce de forêt humide de basse et haute altitude sur volcano-sédimentaire (400- 1,000 m).

Menaces


La principale menace provient de la dégradation de la qualité de l'habitat due aux espèce invasives (cerf (Rusa timorensis) et cochon sauvage).

Conservation


Espèce non protégée par les codes de l'environnement, elle n'est présente dans aucune réserve. L'espèce bénéficierai de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation ex-situ et in-situ. Il est recommandé d'assurer le suivi de la population existante, de la préserver sur un périmètre délimité. Il est de plus préconisé de réaliser des tests de multiplication pour envisager ultérieurement des programmes de replantation. Il est recommandé d'informer le CEN Nouvelle-Calédonie (Conservatoire d'espaces naturels de Nouvelle-Calédonie) de la situation de cette espèce et des zones impactées à des fins de régulation. De plus, la zone du plateau de dogny devrait faire l'objet d'une mise en réserve.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Barrabé, L., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Cazé, H., Dumontet, V., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Hequet, V., Maura, J., McCoy, S., Suprin, B., Vandrot, H., Veillon, J.

Reviewer(s): Lannuzel, G., Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Maura, J., Ramon, L., Tanguy, V., Warimavute, G.


Répartition géographique