Taxonomy

endemique
UICN

Synonyms

Phelline wagapensis var. gracilior Loes.

Red List Status -

Vulnerable (VU) , assessed in 07/04/2017

Phelline gracilior is a newly described, endemic shrub or tree of New Caledonia, restricted in the north west massifs of Grande Terre. It is found in humid forest and shrubland on ultramafic substrate from 50 to 600 m asl. The main threats identified are mining activities and uncontrolled bushfires. Population size is unknown. It has an area of occupancy (AOO) and extent of occurrence (EOO) respectively equal to 44 and 1,447 km² with six estimated locations. Therefore, P. gracilior is listed as Vulnerable (VU) under criteria B1ab(ii,iii,v)+2ab(ii,iii,v), with a continuing decline of all concerned sub-criteria.

Geographical area


P. gracilior is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is restricted in the north western massifs of Grande Terre, from Boulinda to Poum.

Population


Population size is unknown but its number of subpopulations is estimated to be six (Boulinda, Tiéa, Koniambo-Katépahié, Kaala, Tiébaghi and Poum).

Habitat


P. gracilior occurs in humid forest and shrubland on ultramafic substrate from 50 to 600 m asl.

Threats


The main impact identified may come from mining activites (Tiebaghi (SLN) and bushfires.

Conservation


Unprotected by legislation, P. gracilior does not occur in any protected areas. This species would benefit from ex situ and in situ emergency conservation actions. It is proposed to ensure the follow-up of known subpopulations, to preserve a viable population on delimited perimeters on the mining area. Plus, local authority responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort should also be informed about the presence of the species in the concerned areas. And prospection on other northwestern massifs is also needeed.

Bibliography


Munzinger J., Morat Ph., Jaffré T., Gâteblé G., Pillon Y., Tronchet F., Veillon J.-M. and M. Chalopin 2016. FLORICAL: Checklist of the vascular indigenous flora of New Caledonia. vers. 22.IV.2016.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Barriera, G. 2017. Novitates neocaledonicae. VIII. Taxonomie et nomenclature du genre Phelline (Phellinaceae) avec la description de la nouvelle espèce Phelline barrierei. Candollea (72) , p.361-370.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Veillon, J., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Goxe, J., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Pillon, Y.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V., Maura, J.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
UICN

Synonymes

Phelline wagapensis var. gracilior Loes.

Statut liste rouge -

Vulnérable (VU) , évaluée le 07/04/2017

Phelline gracilior un arbuste ou arbre endémique, nouvellement décrite, de Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est localisée sur les massifs ultramafiques du nord-ouest de la Grande Terre. Elle pousse en maquis et forêt sur substrat ultramafique de basse à moyenne altitude (50-600 m). Les principales menaces identifiées proviennent de l’activité minière et des feux. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont respectivement de 1447 km² et 44 km² tandis que le nombre de localité est estimé à 6. En conséquence, P. gracilior est considéré Vulnérable (VU) selon les critères B1ab(ii,iii,v)+2ab(ii,iii,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de la qualité de l'ensemble des sous-critères.

Aire géographique


Espèce endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie restreinte aux massifs ultramafiques du nord-ouest de la Grande Terre, de Boulinda à Poum.

Population


La taille des populations n'est pas connue mais le nombre de sous-populations est estimé à 6 (Boulinda, Tiéa, Koniambo-Katépahié, Kaala, Tiébaghi et Poum).

Habitat


Espèce de maquis et de forêt galerie sur serpentine de basse à moyenne altitude (50-600 m).

Menaces


Les principales menaces proviennent de l'activité minière (Tiebaghi (SLN)) et des feux.

Conservation


Espèce non protégée par la règlementation et n'est présente dans aucune aire protégée. L'espèce bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation ex situ et in situ. Il est recommandé d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) de la situation de l'espèce sur les zones identifiées, d'assurer le suivi des populations existantes et de préserver des populations viables sur des périmètres délimités du site minier. De plus la prospection des autres massifs du nord-ouest est necessaire pour mieux estimer son statut de menace.

Bibliographie


Munzinger J., Morat Ph., Jaffré T., Gâteblé G., Pillon Y., Tronchet F., Veillon J.-M. and M. Chalopin 2016. FLORICAL: Checklist of the vascular indigenous flora of New Caledonia. vers. 22.IV.2016.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Barriera, G. 2017. Novitates neocaledonicae. VIII. Taxonomie et nomenclature du genre Phelline (Phellinaceae) avec la description de la nouvelle espèce Phelline barrierei. Candollea (72) , p.361-370.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Veillon, J., Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Garnier, D., Gâteblé, G., Goxe, J., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Pillon, Y.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V., Maura, J.


Répartition géographique