Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Critically Endangered (CR) , assessed in 27/10/2017

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Marsdenia weberlingiana is endemic to New Caledonia, only known from one collection at col de Hô, on the east coast of Grande Terre. This liana was found in a degraded forest edge on ultramafic substrate at about 50 m asl. Despite recent field surveys, the species has not been found since that collection in the 1970's. The supposed extinction could have been caused by fequent uncontrolled fires in the area. With only one location threatened and supposed extinct, M. weberlingiana is listed as Critically Endangered Probably Extinct (CR PE) under criteria B1ab(iii,v)+B2ab(iii,v).

Geographical area


M. weberlingiana is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is only known from col de Hô, on the east coast of Grande Terre.

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


M. weberlingiana was found in a degraded forest edge on ultramafic substrate at about 50 m asl.

Threats


The main threat is posed by uncontrolled bushfires.

Conservation


M. weberlingiana is not protected by any legislation in New Caledonia and does not occur in any protected areas. In order to confirm the extinction of this species, prospections on col de Hô station are urgently needed. A count of mature individuals will allow to monitor population dynamics and better understand potential threats.

Bibliography


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger critique d'extinction (CR) , évaluée le 27/10/2017

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Description

Référence :


Meve U., Gâteblé G. & Liede-Schumann S. 2017. — Taxonomic novelties in Apocynaceae subfam. Asclepiadoideae

from New Caledonia. Adansonia, sér. 3, 39 (1): 55-70. https://doi.org/10.5252/a2017n1a5


Marsdenia weberlingiana est une liane micro-endémique de la côte est de la Grande Terre, en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce n’est connue que d’une seule collecte en lisière de forêt dégradée à basse altitude, constituant l'unique localité, ses zones d'occurrence (EOO) et d'occupation (AOO) sont toutes deux estimées à 4 km². La principale menace provient des feux de brousse. Malgré des prospections récentes, l'espèce n'a pas été revue depuis les années 1970. En conséquence, M. weberlingiana est considérée En Danger Critique d’Extinction, probablement éteinte (CR PE) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v), avec un déclin continu de la qualité de l'habitat et du nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Espèce micro-endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, connue uniquement du col de Hô, sur la côte est de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue.

Habitat


Liane de lisière de forêt dégradée, sur substrat ultramafique à environ 50 m d’altitude.

Menaces


Menace principale : feux

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégée règlementairement et n'est présente dans aucune aire protégée. Afin de confirmer ou d'infirmer l’extinction de l'espèce, il serait souhaitable de relancer les prospections sur la station du col de Hô. Un comptage du nombre d'individus permettra de suivre l'état de la population et mieux apprécier son statut de menace.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Warimavute, G., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique