Taxonomy

endemique
protegee
UICN

Red List Status -

Critically Endangered (CR) , assessed in 27/10/2017

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Capparis parvifolia is a newly described species. It is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is only known from Mont Kaala, in the north west of Grande Terre. It is found in shrubland on ultramafic substrate between 100 and 800 m asl. Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are both estimated at 8 km², and the species exists in a single location. Its main threats are mining activities and uncontrolled bushfires. Therefore, C. parvifolia is listed as Critically Endangered (CR) under criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,v).

Geographical area


C. parvifolia is endemic to New Caledonia, where it is only known from Mont Kaala, in the north west of Grande Terre.

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


C. parvifolia occurs in shrubland on ultramafic substrate between 100 and 800 m asl.

Threats


The main threats are mining activities (Michel 37 (SMT) and Etoile du Nord (SLN)) and uncontrolled bushfires.

Conservation


C. parvifolia is not protected by any legislation in New Caledonia and does not occur in any protected areas. This species would benefit from ex situ and in situ emergency conservation actions. It is recommended to monitor and preserve known populations on part of the mining site, and to inform the local authority responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort about the presence of the species in the concerned areas. It would also be advised to run multiplication tests in order to assist future planting operations. Finally, prospection in the lower valleys of Mont Kaala is needed to better estimate the size of the population and understand potential threats.

Bibliography


Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Warimavute, G.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

endemique
protegee
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger critique d'extinction (CR) , évaluée le 27/10/2017

Espèce protégée -

en Province Sud

Description

Référence :

Fici 2017. A new species of Capparis (Capparaceae) from ultramafic substrata in New Caledonia. P h y t o t a x a 314 (2): 285–288.


Capparis parvifolia est une espèce nouvellement décrite micro-endémique du Mont Kaala, dans le nord-ouest de la Grande Terre. On la rencontre en maquis entre 100 et 800 m d’altitude. Connue d'une seule localité, ses zones d'occurrence (EOO) et d'occupation (AOO) sont toutes deux estimées à 8 km². La principale menace provient de l’activité minière et des feux. En conséquence, C. parvifolia est considérée En Danger Critique (CR) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,v) avec un déclin continu de l'ensemble des sous-critères.

Aire géographique


Espèce micro-endémique de Nouvelle-Calédonie, connue uniquement du mont Kaala, dans le nord-ouest de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population est inconnue.

Habitat


Espèce de maquis sur substrat ultramafique, entre 100 et 800 m d’altitude.

Menaces


Menaces identifiées : Feux et Mines (Michel 37 (SMT et Etoile du Nord (SLN))).

Conservation


Cette espèce n'est pas protégée règlementairement en Nouvelle-Calédonie et n'est présente dans aucune aire protégée. L'espèce bénéficierait de mesures d'urgence en matière de conservation ex situ et in situ. Il est recommandé d'assurer le suivi de la population existante, de préserver la population viable sur des périmètres délimités du site minier et d'informer la DSCGR (sécurité civile) sur la présence de l’espèce dans les zones concernées. Il est de plus préconisé de réaliser des tests de multiplication pour envisager des programmes de replantation. Enfin, des prospections dans les vallées du mont Kaala sont necessaires pour mieux estimer la taille de la population de l'espèce et son statut de menace.

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Lannuzel, G.; Gâteblé, G.; Fogliani, B. 2017. Etude des Espèces Rares et Menacées des sites miniers de la SMT.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Barrière, R., Butin, J., Fleurot, D., Lagrange, A., Lannuzel, G., Letocart, I., Suprin, B.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Contributor(s): Russ, L.

Facilitator(s): Tanguy, V., Warimavute, G.


Répartition géographique