Taxonomy

UICN

Synonyms

Liparis indifferens J.J.Sm. Cestichis elegans M.A.Clem. & D.L.Jones

Red List Status -

Vulnerable (VU) , assessed in 18/02/2016

Liparis indifferens is an autochthonous orchid of New Caledonia. It is known on Dzumac and Plaine des lacs areas for the southern part of Grande Terre and from Houaïlou to Tiébaghi for the northern part. L. indifferens is a species of shrubland and humid forest on ultramafic and volcano-sedimentary substrate at an altitudinal range 50-800 m asl. Its area of occupancy (AOO) and its extent of occurrence (EOO) are respectively 68and 9,745 km² for a total of threatened locations estimated to be 10. A continuous decline of area of occupancy, habitat quality and population size is inferred regarding threats linked such as bushfire, Rusa deer (Rusa timorensis) and nickel mining are causing a continuous decline of L. indifferens and its habitat. Using criteria B, L. indifferens is considered Vulnerable (VU) with criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,v)+B2ab(i,ii,iii,v).

Geographical area


As an autochthonous orchid of New Caledonia, Liparis indifferens is known on Dzumac and Plaine des lacs areas for the southern part of Grande Terre and from Houaïlou to Tiébaghi for the northern part.

Population


Population size is unknown. Nevertheless field observations in Colnett and Col d'Amoss mentions 2-3 mature individuals while thousands of individuals are observed in Povila.

Habitat


L. indifferens is a species of shrubland and humid forest on ultramafic and volcano-sedimentary substrates at an altitudinal range 50-800 m asl.

Threats


Bushfire constitutes a major threat on Houaïlou and Povila localities, this last area has been severely degraded for 15 years. Nickel mining in Tiébaghi and Goro are also responsible of a decline of the habitat quality and the number of individuals. As a geophyte orchid, L. indifferens may be impacted by Rusa Deer (Rusa timorensis), one of the major invasive animal species in New Caledonia.

Conservation


L. indifferens is protected in Province Sud and Province Nord and is found in one protected area of Province Sud : réserve naturelle du barrage de Yaté.

Bibliography


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Hallé N.; Aubréville A.; Leroy J. F.; 1977. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances. Volume 08 : Orchidaceae.

Experts


Assessor(s): Butin, J., Laudereau, C., Antheaume, C., Cazé, H., Garnier, D., Fleurot, D., Letocart, D., Letocart, I., McCoy, S.

Reviewer(s): Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Chanfreau, S.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

UICN

Synonymes

Liparis indifferens J.J.Sm. Cestichis elegans M.A.Clem. & D.L.Jones

Statut liste rouge -

Vulnérable (VU) , évaluée le 18/02/2016

Liparis indifferens est une espèce autochtone connue de Dzumac à la Plaine des lacs dans le sud de la Grande Terre et de Houaïlou à Tiébaghi dans la partie Nord. L. indifferens pousse dans le maquis et dans la forêt humide sur substrat ultramafique et volcano-sédimentaire, entre 50 à 800 m d'altitude. Les menaces identifiées sont les cerfs et l'activité minière. Son aire d'occupation (AOO) et son aire d'occurrence (EOO) sont respectivement de 68 et 9745 km² pour un total de localités menacées estimé à 10. Un déclin continu de l'aire d'occupation, la qualité de l'habitat et de la taille de la population est prévu de par les menaces liées aux feux de brousse, aux cerfs et à l'activité minière. P. pancheri est donc considéré Vulnerable (VU) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,v)+B2ab(i,ii,iii,v).

Aire géographique


Orchidée autochtone ayant une répartition disjointe entre le sud et le nord de la Grande Terre.

Population


La taille de la population n'est pas connue. Les observations terrain mentionnent un nombre de 2-3 individus matures vus à Colnett et Col d'Amoss alors qu'à Povila on y observe un milier d'individus.

Habitat


Espèce de maquis et dans la forêt humide sur substrat ultramafique et volcano-sédimentaire, entre 50 à 800 m d'altitude.

Menaces


Les feux représentent une menace majeure à Houaïlou et Povila. L'activité minière de Tiébagihi, Goro et l'impact des cerfs représentent des menaces supplémentaires qui contribuent à la dégradation de la qualité de l'habitat.

Conservation


L. indifferens est protégé par la législation en Province Sud et Province Nord et est présent dans une sule aire protégée: réserve naturelle du barrage de Yaté.

Bibliographie


Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. Le référentiel taxonomique Florical et les caractéristiques de la flore vasculaire indigène de la Nouvelle-Calédonie [The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia]. Adansonia sér 3(34) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Hallé N.; Aubréville A.; Leroy J. F.; 1977. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances. Volume 08 : Orchidaceae.

Experts


Assessor(s): Butin, J., Laudereau, C., Antheaume, C., Cazé, H., Garnier, D., Fleurot, D., Letocart, D., Letocart, I., McCoy, S.

Reviewer(s): Tanguy, V.

Facilitator(s): Chanfreau, S.


Répartition géographique