Taxonomy

Pleioluma vieillardii (Baill.) Swenson & Munzinger
endemique
protegee
UICN

Synonyms

Pouteria vieillardii (Baill.) BaehniBeccariella vieillardii (Baill.) Swenson, Bartish & Munzinger

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 12/10/2015

Protected species -

in Northern Province

Pleioluma vieillardii is a narrow endemic small tree found in the northwestern part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is only known from two massifs : Koniambo and Katépahié and Ouaté area. It is found in shrubland on an ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 535-720 m asl. Main threats are presented by ongoing mining activities in Koniambo, an increasing urbanisation in Voh and Koné and uncontrolled bushfires. Its extent of occurrence (EOO) and area of occupancy (AOO) are respectively estimated to be of 70 km² and 20 km² while the number of locations are estimated to be 4. Pleioluma vieillardii is therefore assessed as Endangered (EN) with criteria B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) with a continuing decline of all concerned sub-criteria.

Geographical area


Pleioluma vieillardii is a narrow endemic small tree found in the northwestern part of Grande Terre in New Caledonia. This species is only known from two massifs : Koniambo and Katépahié and Ouaté area.

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


Pleioluma vieillardii is found in shrubland on an ultramafic substrate at an altitudinal range 535-720 m asl.

Threats


Main threats are presented by ongoing mining activities in Koniambo, an increasing urbanisation in Voh and Koné and uncontrolled bushfires. The twenty five year projection for mining operation indicate that severals individuals may be affected. New Caledonia contains between 20 - 30% of the world’s nickel resources and has experienced intense mining activities since the late 19th century which has generated soil erosion (1.2% of bare ground mapped by SPOT5 in 2007). Based on the distribution of metal-rich soils and site accessibility, these threats are predictable and planned (rise in nickel production from 60,000 to 200,000 tonnes per year between 2013 and 2015). Uncontrolled bushfires sweep across New Caledonia each year, especially during the dry season (an average of 20,000 ha of land is burnt each year, with dramatic peaks of 70,000 ha). Lowest parts of ultramafic areas are particularly exposed to such risk.

Conservation


Pleioluma vieillardii is not protected by legislation in Province Nord and does not occur in any protected area. It is recommanded to ensure prospection in Koniambo because this species is not currently monitoring. It would benefit from ex-situ and in-situ emergency conservation actions. It is proposed to ensure the follow-up of known sub-populations, to preserve a viable population on delimited perimeters on Koniambo. It is proposed to ensure propagation tests in order to assist future planting operations.

Bibliography


Wulff AS, Hollingsworth PM, Ahrends A, Jaffré T, Veillon J-M, L’Huillier L, et al. 2013. Conservation Priorities in a Biodiversity Hotspot: Analysis of Narrow Endemic Plant Species in New Caledonia.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334(2)) , p.177-219.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

L'Huillier L.; Jaffré T. and Wulff A. 2010. Mines et Environnement en Nouvelle-Calédonie : les milieux sur substrats ultramafiques et leur restauration.

Experts


Assessor(s): Tanguy, V., Veillon, J., Amice, R., Barrière, R., Chambrey, C., Fleurot, D., Lannuzel, G.

Reviewer(s): Vandrot, H.

Contributor(s): Wulff, A.

Facilitator(s): Chanfreau, S., Tanguy, V.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Pleioluma vieillardii (Baill.) Swenson & Munzinger
endemique
protegee
UICN

Synonymes

Pouteria vieillardii (Baill.) BaehniBeccariella vieillardii (Baill.) Swenson, Bartish & Munzinger

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 12/10/2015

Espèce protégée -

en Province Nord

Description

Habitat

Les maquis miniers (M)
 

Synonyme

Sideroxylon vieillardii Baill.
 


Pleioluma vieillardii est un arbuste micro-endémique du nord-ouest de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue de 2 massifs voisins (Katépahié, Koniambo) et de la zone de Ouaté. On le trouve en maquis arbustif sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude de 550 à 720 m. Les principales menaces proviennent de l'exploitation minière en cours sur la zone du Koniambo et de la dégradation de l'habitat liée aux feux de brousse. Sa zone d'occurrence (EOO) et sa zone d'occupation (AOO) sont estimées respectivement à 70 et 20 km² tandis que le nombre de localités est estimé à quatre. En conséquence, P. vieillardii est considéré En Danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v)+2ab(i,ii,iii,iv,v) avec un déclin continu estimé de l'ensemble des sous-critères concernés.

Aire géographique


Pleioluma vieillardii est un arbuste micro-endémique du nord-ouest de la Grande Terre en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette espèce est connue de 2 massifs voisins (Katépahié, Koniambo) et de la zone de Ouaté.

Habitat


Pleioluma vieillardii se retrouve en maquis arbustif sur substrat ultramafique à une altitude de 535 à 720 m.

Menaces


Les principales menaces proviennent de l'exploitation minière en cours sur la zone du Koniambo et des feux de brousse qui dégradent la qualité de l'habitat. La Nouvelle-Calédonie possède de 20 à 30% des réserves mondiales de nickel. L'exploitation minière intensive depuis la fin du XIXème siècle a entraîné une forte érosion des sols (1,2% de surface de sol dégradé cartographiée par SPOT5 en 2007 sur la Grande-Terre). L'exploitation minière est aujourd'hui en phase de développement avec une production métallurgique multipliée par trois de 2010 à 2015 (de 60,000 à 200,000 tonnes annuelles). Les bas de pente des massifs ultramafiques du nord-ouest de la Nouvelle-Calédonie sont particulièrement touchés par les feux de brousse. Une moyenne de 20,000 ha de terrains brûle chaque année en Nouvelle-Calédonie, notamment lors de la saison sèche.

Conservation


Pleioluma vieillardii n'est pas protégée par le code de l'environnement de la Province nord. Aucune population biologiquement viable de cette espèce ne se trouve dans une aire protégée. Il est recommandé d'assurer des prospections sur la zone du Koniambo car cette espèce n'est aujourd'hui pas suivie. Cette espèce bénéficierait de mesures de conservation in-situ et ex-situ. Il est recommandé d'assurer le suivi des populations existantes, de préserver des populations viables sur des périmètres délimités sur la zone du Koniambo. Il est de plus préconisé de réaliser des tests de multiplication pour envisager ultérieurement des programmes de replantation.

Bibliographie


Wulff AS, Hollingsworth PM, Ahrends A, Jaffré T, Veillon J-M, L’Huillier L, et al. 2013. Conservation Priorities in a Biodiversity Hotspot: Analysis of Narrow Endemic Plant Species in New Caledonia.

Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Morat, P.; Jaffré, T.; Tronchet, F.; Munzinger, J.; Pillon, Y.; Veillon, J.-M. and Chalopin, M. 2012. The taxonomic database « FLORICAL » and characteristics of the indigenous flora of New Caledonia. Adansonia(334) , p.177-219.

L'Huillier L.; Jaffré T. and Wulff A. 2010. Mines et Environnement en Nouvelle-Calédonie : les milieux sur substrats ultramafiques et leur restauration.

Experts


Assessor(s): Tanguy, V., Veillon, J., Amice, R., Barrière, R., Chambrey, C., Fleurot, D., Lannuzel, G.

Reviewer(s): Vandrot, H.

Contributor(s): Wulff, A.

Facilitator(s): Chanfreau, S., Tanguy, V.


Répartition géographique