Taxonomy

Kermadecia brinoniae H.C.Hopkins & Pillon
endemique
UICN

Red List Status -

Endangered (EN) , assessed in 24/10/2019

Kermadecia brinoniae is an endemic big tree from New Caledonia, growing up to 20 m high and restricted to the south of the main island (Grande Terre). This species is known from 5 subpopulations: Dalmates, Forêt « Démazures », La Thy, Pente au Nord de la Conception and Koghis. This species occurs in dense humid forest on ultramafic substrate at an altitude range of 100 and 400 m asl. This species is threatened by bushfires and indirectly hunting pressure on its putative dispersers (flying foxes and New Caledonian Imperial Pigeons) (Hopkin & Pillon 2019). Its Area of Occupancy (AOO) and Extent of Occurrence (EOO) are respectively estimated to be 32 and 55 km² with a number of location equal to five. Therefore Kermadecia brinoniae is considered Endangered (EN) B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v) with a decline of the habitat quality and number of mature individuals

Geographical area


Kermadecia brinoniae is endemic to New Caledonia where it is restricted to the south of the Grande Terre. It is known from five subpopulations : Dalmates, Forêt « Démazures », La Thy, Pente au Nord de la Conception and Koghis.

Population


Population size is unknown.

Habitat


Kermadecia brinoniae occurs in dense humid forest on ultramafic substrate at an altitude range of 100 and 400 m asl.

Threats


This species is threatened by bushfires and indirectly hunting pressure on its putative dispersers (flying foxes and New Caledonian Imperial Pigeons) (Hopkin & Pillon 2019).

Conservation


Kermadecia brinoniae is not protected by legislation in New Caledonia and it does occur in only one protected area: Vallée de la Thy. This species should be included in Province Sud legislation for a better protection of the species. It is recommended to inform the DSCGR (emergency services), responsible for the coordination of the firefighting effort, on the presence of the species in the concerned areas.

Bibliography


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Munzinger J., Morat Ph., Jaffré T., Gâteblé G., Pillon Y., Rouhan G., Bruy, D., Veillon J.-M., & M. Chalopin 2020. FLORICAL: Checklist of the vascular indigenous flora of New Caledonia [continuously updated].

Hopkins H.C.F. & Pillon Y. 2019. Kermadecia brinoniae (Proteaceae: Macadamieae), a new species from New Caledonia previously confused with K. elliptica. Candollea(74 (1)) , p.85-92.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Cazé, H., Fleurot, D., Héquet, V., Lannuzel, G., Laudereau, C., Mandaoué, L., Vandrot, H., Gâteblé, G.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Facilitator(s): Pillon, Y., Meyer, S., Warimavute, G.


Geographical distribution

Taxonomie

Kermadecia brinoniae H.C.Hopkins & Pillon
endemique
UICN

Statut liste rouge -

En danger (EN) , évaluée le 24/10/2019

Kermadecia brinoniae est un arbre endémique qui peut atteindre 20 m de haut, ayant une répartition restreinte au Grand Massif Sud de la Grande Terre. L’espèce est connue de cinq sous-populations : Dalmates, Forêt « Démazures », La Thy, Pente au Nord de la Conception et Koghis. Cette espèce pousse dans la forêt humide sur substrat ultramafique entre 100 et 400 m d'altitude. L'espèce est menacée par les feux et indirectement par la chasse qui affectent des animaux disperseurs (roussettes et notous) de grosses graines de cette espèce. Ses aires d'occupation (AOO) et d'occurrence (EOO) sont toutes deux estimées à 32 et 55 km², respectivement avec un nombre de localité estimé à 5. Ainsi K. brinoniae est classé En Danger (EN) selon les critères B1ab(iii,v)+2ab(iii,v), avec un déclin de la qualité de l'habitat et le nombre d'individus matures.

Aire géographique


Espèce connue de cinq sous-populations dans le Sud de la Grande Terre : Dalmates, Forêt « Démazures », La Thy, Pente au Nord de la Conception et Koghis.

Population


La taille de la population n'est pas connue.

Habitat


Arbre endémique de 20 m de haut de forêt dense humide sur substrat ultramafique, qui pousse entre 100 et 400 m d'altitude.

Menaces


L'espèce est menacée par les feux et indirectement par la chasse qui affectent des animaux disperseurs (roussettes et notous) de grosses graines de cette espèce (Hopkin & Pillon 2019).

Conservation


L'espèce n'est pas protégée par la législation en Nouvelle Calédonie et elle est présente dans une seule aire protégée : Vallée de la Thy. Il est recommandé d'intégrer l'espèce aux code de l'environnement de la Province Sud. Et cette espèce étant menacée par les feux de brousse, ses localisations devraient être intégrées sur les atlas de la Sécurité Civile.

Bibliographie


Endemia.nc 2016. Faune et Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Munzinger J., Morat Ph., Jaffré T., Gâteblé G., Pillon Y., Rouhan G., Bruy, D., Veillon J.-M., & M. Chalopin 2020. FLORICAL: Checklist of the vascular indigenous flora of New Caledonia [continuously updated].

Hopkins H.C.F. & Pillon Y. 2019. Kermadecia brinoniae (Proteaceae: Macadamieae), a new species from New Caledonia previously confused with K. elliptica. Candollea(74 (1)) , p.85-92.

Experts


Assessor(s): Amice, R., Bruy, D., Butin, J., Cazé, H., Fleurot, D., Héquet, V., Lannuzel, G., Laudereau, C., Mandaoué, L., Vandrot, H., Gâteblé, G.

Reviewer(s): Veillon, J.

Facilitator(s): Pillon, Y., Meyer, S., Warimavute, G.


Répartition géographique